A Serious Man (2009)

serious_man

A put-upon Jewish suburbanite suffers the trials and indignities of everyday life in the 1960’s.

I’m a big fan of the Coen brothers and I’m convinced that this, their latest straight comedy, is a quality film. The problem is that its audience is a very narrow one; namely Jewish Americans. Being as goy as they come, the cultural references flew straight over my head and I found the constant religious references utterly baffling. Michael Stuhlbarg makes a very sympathetic central character and the gentle humour is always amusing…on the rare occasions that I actually understood it.

I’m sure the sly and witty observations on the modern Jewish condition are hilarious to the intended demographic but if like me you’re not part of it, I suspect you’ll find it equally bemusing.

5.5/10

Leave a Reply

